Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Advisory Committee


On August 11, 2020 City Council endorsed support for participation in the “Coalition of Inclusive Municipalities”.  The Coalition of Inclusive Municipalities is an international network which includes eighty two (82) Canadian municipal members at present. Twenty (20) Ontario municipalities are members of CIM, including the Region of Peel, the cities of Hamilton, London, and Windsor.

Joining the Coalition and working actively towards the following ten (10) commitments, would be beneficial to help build respectful, inclusive and diverse societies, and to positively impact newcomers, immigrants, refugees, Indigenous peoples, visible minorities, people with disabilities, and the LGBTQ2S+ community:

  • Increase vigilance against systemic and individual racism and discrimination.
  • Monitor racism and discrimination in the community more broadly as well as municipal actions taken to address racism and discrimination.
  • Inform and support individuals who experience racism and discrimination.
  • Support policing services in their efforts to be exemplary institutions in combating racism and discrimination.
  • Provide equal opportunities as a municipal employer, service provider, and contractor.
  • Support measures to promote equity in the labour market.
  • Support measures to challenge racism and discrimination and promote diversity and equal opportunity in housing.
  • Involve citizens by giving them a voice in anti-racism initiatives and decision-making.
  • Support measures to challenge racism and discrimination and promote diversity and equal opportunity in housing.
  • Promote respect, understanding and appreciation of cultural diversity and the  inclusion of Aboriginal and racialized communities into the cultural fabric of the  municipality.

Procedures and frequency of meetings

  • The Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Advisory Committee will meet as required, or determined by committee members, at the call of the Chair, or at the direction of Council.
  • The dates of meetings will be confirmed upon agreement of DEI’s annual work plan so as to integrate well with the plans and projects under discussion by DEI.
  • The Chair of DEI, in consultation with City Staff may cancel a meeting if it is determined there are insufficient items to discuss.
  • Half of the committee members plus one will constitute quorum.
  • Meetings will be open to the public at an accessible location.  Due to the recent Pandemic, meetings will be held virtually.  Any requests to attend a meeting must be made through the Committee Chair.
  • Other Members of Council may attend meetings, but will participate as non-voting participants.

 In consultation with the Committee Chair, staff will prepare meeting agendas in advance of the meeting.  Meeting minutes will be prepared by a staff member or designated committee member and forwarded to each committee member (copied to the City Clerk).

Procedural Rules

The rules of procedure will be those rules of procedure as outlined in the City of Niagara Falls Procedural Rules of Council, adopted by By-law 2019-04.  Further, all committee members are subject to the Code of Conduct and Complaint Protocol for the City of Niagara Falls.